Skip to content

Reality TV/Non-Fiction Book Display

December 8, 2011

I love creating book displays.

While at a meeting a few weeks ago, Cielo (the assistant librarian at my internship) and I were talking about how difficult it was to generate interest in our non-fiction collection. We had thrown around some ideas for a display revolving around non-fiction, and likening it to reality TV. This is what I came up with, and what went up on display today.

The title of the display is “Before Reality TV, There Was Non-Fiction.” The idea is, that every book (or grouping of books) is labeled with a list of TV shows (some reality, some not…I wanted to try and catch as many TV viewers as possible). All students have to do is find a show they like, and check out one of the books that corresponds to the TV show list.

This was one of my favorite groupings, since it took me an embarrassingly long time to come up with TV shows to link to Reviving Ophelia and Girl, Interrupted. Once I realized 16 and Pregnant would work, I had no problem coming up with other related shows.

Here’s another example of a category, involving mostly adventure writings.

I created the banner in Microsoft Word, making each word 1/2 of a page in landscape mode. I trimmed the stack of pages, and Cielo taped them together for me. The TV show listings are written on a blank TV outline. I think there could be a better way of putting the TV show listings near the books, but this was the best I could come up with given the space and materials.

I really liked the idea of having a non-fiction display right before the holiday break…what better time to check out an interesting (and long) book? Plus, it shakes things up a little from a display of winter and holiday themed books.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Brianna S. permalink
    December 8, 2011 6:58 pm

    That’s awesome! I completely love the idea and would definitely read one of those books (or more)

Leave a Reply

