Skip to content

ALA 2012: Day Three

June 24, 2012

My hotel-mates and I slept in a little the next morning, and made it to the conference center in time to see the Alex Awards! We heard Ernest Cline (Ready Player One), Rachel DeWoskin (Big Girl Small), Brooke Hauser (The New Kids), and Erin Morgenstern (The Night Circus), talk about their experiences writing their books and how their work has been embraced by both adults and young adults.

I’ve decided that the awards programs are probably my favorite panels to attend. All of the authors are so generous and eloquent, and everyone generally seems to be having a great time discussing books and the way people connect with them. I think since I just recently graduated from library school, I was more inclined to visit the panels that were celebrations of books rather than topics I had just covered recently in school, but I can definitely see my priorities of panels fluctuating with each conference that I attend.

After the Alex Awards, I attempted to attend another Book Buzz panel…but was thwarted by a fire alarm! We were evacuated from the conference center, and since I’m a slightly anxious person, I wasn’t really in the mood to go back inside even after the all-clear was sounded. Apparently, the cause of the fire alarm had actually been the popcorn maker in the panel I was attending.

I visited the Passive Programming panel next, and got some great ideas for working with the middle schoolers in the fall. I’m excited to try and create a library space that really feels like they have some ownership of it, even though it is more of a high school space.

After that, it was time for the UCLA student reception at Bubba Gump’s Shrimp Co. While there were a lot of people packed onto a very small patio, it was nice to socialize with everyone who had just graduated and a few of our favorite professors.

After the reception, we went to hear the speeches at the Newbery Awards…and ended up meeting all of the authors and publishers in the receiving line afterwards! Apparently, Jack Gantos went through my bookbag while I wasn’t paying attention…hope he found something he liked!

Finally, we headed to the Mango party, and enjoyed a very loud and late evening at a bowling alley with many many librarians!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

